Home

Ubiquitous Working: Challenges and Prospects of the Interconnected Working Environment

The technological potential to separate work from the workplace is constantly increasing. Mobile devices with mobile internet access and remote access to firms' internal networks and data allow to work anywhere at any time, i.e. Ubiquitous Working (UW). In April 2014, ZEW started the project "Ubiquitous Working: Challenges and Prospects of the Interconnected Working Environment“, which is supported by the Leibniz Association. For the next three years, an interdisciplinary network of scholars engaged in exploring the chances and challenges will be arising from UW by using theory-based empirical research. For this purpose, the project makes use of rich data on both employees and employers in order to examine the diverse dimensions of UW that are relevant from the perspective of the disciplines involved in the project – economics, work psychology, media psychology, occupational medicine, and sociology. The projects objective is to bring together scholars of these disciplines in a closely collaborating network of institutions and scholars in order to gain deeper insights into the phenomenon of UW.

News

23.03.2017 - 24.03.2017

Project Partners Discuss Ubiquitous Working at Interdisciplinary Closing Conference at ZEW

How are our lives being transformed by flexible working conditions? What effect is ubiquitous working having on our well-being? And how can we strike a healthy work-life balance? These are some of the questions that ZEW has been investigating as part of a project on "Ubiquitous Working" carried out...

read more

11.11.2016 - 11.11.2016

Workshop on “Ubiquitous Working“ at IWM in Tübingen (11 November 2016)

Within the framework of the SAW project “Ubiquitous Working”, the Leibniz-Institut für Wissensmedien (IWM) in Tübingen organised a workshop on Ubiquitous Working: Challenges and Prospects of the Interconnected Working Environment on 11 November 2016. The project members as well as the project...

read more

10.03.2015 - 11.03.2015

Workshop on “Ubiquitous Working” at IfADo (10–11 March 2015)

In March 2015, the Leibniz Research Centre for Working Environment and Human Factors at TU Dortmund (IfADo) organised a two-day project workshop. Following a guest lecture by Assistant Professor Viktoria Pammer-Schindler (TU Graz – Knowledge Technologies Institute), who discussed the blurring of...

read more

Home

Ubiquitous Working: Herausforderungen und Chancen der vernetzten Arbeitswelt

Zunehmende Vernetzung und Virtualisierung erlauben die Ablösung der Arbeit vom Arbeitsplatz im Betrieb. Aus der Allgegenwart von digitalen Technologien erwächst so eine Allgegenwart der Arbeit – Ubiquitous Working (UW). Im April 2014 startete am ZEW das von der Leibniz-Gemeinschaft geförderte Projekt „Ubiquitous Working: Herausforderungen und Chancen der vernetzten Arbeitswelt“. Drei Jahre lang wird sich ein interdisziplinäres Forschungsnetzwerk mit der theoriebasierten und empirischen Erforschung der Chancen und Herausforderungen des UW befassen. Hierzu soll eine breite und einzigartige Datenbasis auf Unternehmensebene und auf Arbeitnehmerebene erstellt und genutzt werden, um die unterschiedlichen Dimensionen des UW aus den Perspektiven der beteiligten Disziplinen - der Ökonomie, der Medienpsychologie, der Arbeitspsychologie, der Arbeitsmedizin und der Soziologie - gemeinsam zu untersuchen. Wesentlicher Bestandteil des Forschungsvorhabens sind Netzwerkaktivitäten, welche die gemeinsamen Forschungsarbeiten unterstützen und den Austausch zwischen den beteiligten Netzwerkpartnern fördern.

News

23.03.2017 - 24.03.2017

Projektpartner diskutieren Allgegenwart der Arbeit bei interdisziplinärer Abschlusskonferenz am ZEW

Wie verändert sich unser Leben durch orts- und zeitflexible Arbeitsformen? Welche Auswirkungen hat die Allgegenwart der Arbeit auf uns? Und wie können veränderte Arbeitswelt und Privatleben gut vereinbart werden? Diesen Fragen geht das ZEW gemeinsam mit dem Leibniz-Institut für Arbeitsforschung...

weiterlesen

11.11.2016 - 11.11.2016

Workshop „Ubiquitous Working“ am IWM Tübingen (11.11.2016)

Im Rahmen des SAW-Projekts „Ubiquitous Working“ veranstaltete das Leibniz-Institut für Wissensmedien (IWM) in Tübingen am Freitag, 11. November 2016, einen Workshop zum Thema Ubiquitous Working: Herausforderungen und Chancen einer vernetzten Arbeitswelt. Die Projektbeteiligten und die Projektpartner...

weiterlesen

10.03.2015 - 11.03.2015

Workshop „Ubiquitous Working“ am IfADo (10.-11. März 2015)

Im März 2015 veranstaltete das Leibniz-Institut für Arbeitsforschung an der TU Dortmund (IfADo) einen zweitägigen Projekt-Workshop. Nach einem ersten Gast-Vortrag von Ass.-Prof. Dr. Viktoria Pammer-Schindler (TU Graz – Knowledge Technologies Institute), die das Thema „Entgrenzte Arbeit“ aus...

weiterlesen